Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Catfish Fishing 101: The Basics

Default Catfish Fishing 101: The Basics

I'm no expert by any means but I'd like to start off with some basics for summertime catfish fishing. First off, a little fact.... there is no such thing as "catfishing". The correct way of saying it is "catfish fishing". OK now that we got that out of the way we'll be going over everything you'll need in your arsenal this summer to target those monster blue and channel catfish @ your favorite local lake!

Reel
    There is nothing like the sound of the clicker on a baitcaster screaming away as a catfish takes off with your bait! Catfish are a smarter fish than most think and when they first pick up your bait if they feel the slightest bit of resistance they will drop your bait just as fast as they picked it up. Unless I'm fishing with circle hooks I always leave my bail open so when that cat picks up my bait and takes off with it he/she won't feel any resistance. I like to use a baitcasting reel big enough to hold 20lb test mono for one reason, the clicker. When fishing for cats at night with an open bail, having that clicker engaged you immedietly know when your getting bit. Close the bail, set the hook, and the battle is on! Bass Pro Shop makes the perfect low cost baitcasting reel called the "Megacast". It cost under $30. It comes in a 12lb and 16lb version, your going to want to go with the larger 16lb version. FYI.... this is also the perfect reel for leadcore during trout season.

Rod