Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upper Castaic 03/18/2018

Default Upper Castaic 03/18/2018

This is my first report, so bare with me.

I was on the water by 10:00am and fished until about 4:00pm. Unfortunately, I realized my newly installed fish finder was not working. So I don't have any temps or depths to report. I'm new to bass fishing, so my gear selection is pretty limited because I only own two 7' medium heavy spinning rods. The set up was pretty basic as well, the first one I used for drop shots with a purple/yellow tail roboworm and second I used for 1/4oz white jig head with a shade colored blue/silver soft plastic swim bait.

I apologize ahead of time because this was my first time on the lake and I'm not 100% of all the location names. Started off at Hawks Nest, stayed pretty shallow avoiding the submerged trees and wind. Got a couple of bites on the roboworm but never set the hook. Trolling around for about an hour and decided to move on. Stayed around Trout Point looking for any signs of fish but the wind kept tossing me around and didn't really have much luck. Looped around to C-Point and tried my luck with the swim bait and nothing. At this point the wind picked up and I decided to try my luck in at the nearest cove, which I think is called Bone Creek. I anchored front and back this time and stayed shallow again fishing around submerged trees and such and nothing. At this point, the wind really picked up and it was just not comfortable, so I decided to pack it up and call it a day.