Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Dry wet or nymph on the Owens and Eastern Sierras

Default Dry wet or nymph on the Owens and Eastern Sierras

I'm a novice fly fisherman when it comes to fly patterns and the technique in general. I started fly fishing over 25 years ago creek fishing for small mouth bass which were not hard to bring to the net. Now trout is another story and there is an art to it. I've fished the Eastern Sierra for a few years now and every year i bring my 2 fly rods along with the spin gear and always give the fly rod a shot but have always been more successful with bait or lures on the spin rod. I've caught 2-3 fish on the fly total and i think those were by mistake. I have tried fishing nymphs unde ran indicator, have stripped wet flies and am not accomplished enough to fish the hatch because it always ends up dragging and i end up fishing it as a wet anyways. Any pointers on what I can do to improve my chances? I fish the lower owens, Pleasant valley and some of the creeks. Ive also fished Crowley quite a bit on the rental boats but never with fly but I see a lot of guys on the lake with float tubes fishing the fly and doing well.

Do yourself a favor and hire Tom Lowe at Sierra Drifters for a day on Crowley. You will learn a lot and can spend the day talking about fly fishing moving and still water while catching 20" plus trout. There is no way I can answer your questions in a forum response. Once you pick up some pointers you will need to leave your spinning gear behind and force yourself to learn fly fishing without a crutch.