Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Phenix vs. Eagle Claw

Default Phenix vs. Eagle Claw

This is going to sound stupid to the more experienced guys but for me, a low-key recreational fisherman with low-end gear, it was kind of eye opening.

For the past 30 years or so, I’ve only fished a few times a year so I never invested any real money in my gear. I’ve been using the same Eagle Claw rod for 15 years that I am sure was in the $20 range when new.

However, I’ve recently gotten into float tubing and now I go out almost every weekend, and I’ve still been using my little light-tackle trout gear and it’s been fine, but I had a desire to throw some heavier baits and I also wanted a rod with a little more backbone.

So I was talking with my brother-in-law about this and through a series of unexpected events, I wound up with a relative giving me a brand new Phenix MAX-S72M which is about the least expensive rod they sell at $109.

So for the past month or two, I’ve been using them both, the Eagle Claw and the Phenix and my experience has been that the Phenix truly is a far superior rod.
    For me, the issues that stand out are sensitivity, casting, and fighting and the Phenix beats the Eagle Claw on every count.

I’m mostly catching saltwater bass and like all bass, they often just suck in the bait quietly and then spit it out. With the Eagle Claw, all I would see is a little line twitch, but with the Phenix, that little line twitch can also be felt. I’ve fished them side by side and the difference is noticeable.

As for casting, that Phenix loads up and just rockets the lure out there and when it comes to fighting the fish, the Phenix has all the backbone I was looking for.