Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rod setup help please...?

Default Rod setup help please...?

I am new to fishing and i have been looking for information on the right set up for stock trout fishing from the bank. I heard that rooster tails and inline spinners are best but i do not know how to set them up. Any advise would be much appreciated.

Let's see what Bob has to say:

Quote Originally Posted by TroutOnly View Post
    ................lol.................truck trout..........................

Keep it simple.. 2 to 4 lb test monofilment (I prefer mono for ultralight fishing) loaded onto your spinning reel, and use the smallest size ball bearing snap swivel, size 12 or 14 (I prefer black, but silver or chrome is ok) attached to your spinner. Use an improved Clinch Knot to tie your line to the snap swivel. Cast out, jerk the rod to get the blade on the spinner to start spinning, and start winding it back in. With a snap swivel. you can change lures quickly and it helps to keep the line from twisting. Hey Roostertails are good, but Mepps are better.

Quote Originally Posted by christoff0433 View Post
    I am new to fishing and i have been looking for information on the right set up for stock trout fishing from the bank. I heard that rooster tails and inline spinners are best but i do not know how to set them up. Any advise would be much appreciated.
    Get a 7 foot spinning rod with a reliable spinning reel that can throw 2, 4 and 6 pound test. (A lot of good reels these days have a second spool to assist with that).

Or, PM TroutOnly. He's the trout master around these parts and will show you the right way to hook a night crawler. The best in the biz.