Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Baitcast Reel on an Ugly Stick GX2?

Default Baitcast Reel on an Ugly Stick GX2?

Hey guys, I was wondering if it's possible to put a baitcasting reel on an Ugly Stick GX2? The rod came with a Shakespeare spinning reel(not sure of the model).

What I want to do is put a baitcaster on my Ugly Stick and then put the Shakespeare spinning reel on my lighter Zebco. I am new to fishing so don't judge on my low end gear haha

Thanks!

Ugly Stick GX2 rods are made either
    to be bait casting or spinning. Since yours
    came with a spinning reel it will be a spinning
    rod. You can put the two together, unless
    you get really good at working lures it should not
    affect you that much.

Fishing rods are usually designed to bend a curtain direction but for a beginner you wont notice too much difference when flipping it over to use a baitcaster other than the unnecessarily large eyes and extra flex of a light rod. I would recommend getting a proper baitcasting rod with a trigger grip as soon as you can afford to though, something a bit stiffer. You should be able to find a decent rod for $20-$30. then you can have 2 rods setup, spinning rod for light line finesse fishing and the baitcaster for throwing heavier lures. Practicing casting a baitcaster with a rod that is too light is going to cause some problems if not right away when you go to a stiffer rod.

Quote Originally Posted by twin22s View Post