Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fly Rod Recommendations

Default Fly Rod Recommendations

Hello All,

I wish to pick up a good quality fly rod. I will admit up front that I do not want to spend 400.00 or above to purchase a rod. I am just getting started. Sort of. But it has been a long while since a did it and was not really all that good at it when I did. But I am not opposed to buying a used rod that might fall into this category.

Most of the fishing would be in small water like walker river, owens river (upper and lower) and on lakes. Crowley, South lake, Sabrina, and backpacking lakes in the Eastern Sierras. Nymphing and dry and emergers.

I don't see how I would need a rod that is capable of truly long casts at this time. I do want to have a rod that loads up nicely and makes a smooth fluid cast. Just because I am a "beginner" does not mean I want to struggle with a rod that makes learning a ***** and unenjoyable.

There are so many high quality rods. Sage, Scott, Reddington, St Croix. And the different actions are pretty over wheming. My friend like a 9' 4wt for those types of waters. And he prefers medium action so he can feel the load.

So please give me your recommendations so I can try and narrow things down. Thank you in advance.

Here are some suggestions. http://sportingclassicsdaily.com/eig...reak-the-bank/

I have another company or two I will research. There are some great 4/5 weight combos for under 250 that will carry you into more advanced fly fishing and casting. One recommendation...take the fly casting course at the Long Beach Casting club. They have beginner and advanced....it's free and in the evenings and it will give you the skills to put your fly where ever you need to. It's a game changer. Trying to learn on your own is an invitation to learning bad habits.