Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Striper and Bass Fishing: Hard Baits

Default Striper and Bass Fishing: Hard Baits

Hey folks,
    I was wondering what kind of hard bait should i pick up for striper or bass fishing. I know the fish feed on shad, but there are so many different shad looking hard baits that I'm lost on picking one up. I'm new to all this, so any help and or advice would be amazing.
    Thank You!

Quote Originally Posted by Poseidon View Post
    Hey folks,
    I was wondering what kind of hard bait should i pick up for striper or bass fishing. I know the fish feed on shad, but there are so many different shad looking hard baits that I'm lost on picking one up. I'm new to all this, so any help and or advice would be amazing.
    Thank You!
    Depends what your budget it, what part of the water column you wanna be targeting, and whether you fish from shore or off a boat.

If I was stuck on a stranded island (with stripers on it), and I had one hard bait to use, it'd probably be a small lipless in a threadfin pattern.

Price doesn't really matter. I have one rattle trap and just lost a swim bait that looked like a trout to the rocks I bought from Gallions -_-. I got no love on the trout swim bait. I really don't know how stripers work and when to fish which water column lol
    I will definitely pick one of those lip less crank-baits up!

Quote Originally Posted by Poseidon View Post
    I really don't know how stripers work and when to fish which water column lol
    And I think you answered your own question with this.