Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Channel Islands Sportfishing  CCA-California  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  

Thread: Cherry report, 7/3, 150 slugs all around, and my PB

Default Cherry report, 7/3, 150 slugs all around, and my PB

I've been working on my skipjack for the last 6 months and finally took it fishing for the first time on 7/3. The goal was to head to the 150, check it out and then head west and south to look for kelps.

Launched at 8am and got to nachos for a healthy scoop of nice dines and minimacs. They looks really good and we didn't have a single one roll on us all day. The sky was a bit hazy with a marine layer in. Pointed the boat towards the 150 and we set our course. A few miles out I could already see the fleet. When we got to the site, there were roughly 70+ boats including the monte carlo on the hook. We joined the pack and started the drift. For the crew, it was 3 of us who have put our blood sweat and tears into rebuilding the skippy.

The dines went out and we started the wait game. We were fishing 20-30lb flouro with fly lined dines. One dropper loop ( never bit all day). We soaked for about an hour with no bites and no hookups to be seen.

We decided to make a move to check our the surrounding area and motored off. We didn't see any action going on, no working birds, so we moved back to the 150, but this time away from the fleet. We started our drift, and i decided to just lay down a bit. after about 30 minutes, i look up and see a boat next to us hooked up. I yell to my crew, someones hooked up so i jumped up and decided to switch my bait out to a freshy. As i'm reeling in my dine, it gets heavy, i wind down and fish on.