Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Channel Islands Sportfishing  CCA-California  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hooping Etiquette

Default Hooping Etiquette

Not looking to start a fight here, but I am curious on how everyone feels about this issue.

When hooping, how close do you all get to others? How close is too close?

Is it different when hooping breakwalls than rock piles/reefs?

I certainly have my own opinions on this, but I'd like to see where everyone else stands.

I try to give people space. I hoop from a kayak. If other kayakers are around I ask if I am too close. I have found that Most don't care. I have even had them tell me to drop right next to them, I guess they felt the more bait in the area the better. I have only been a few times and I am new to it.

On walls I think it's fine to drop near someone and I think it's just fine when someone drops near me. On a reef I'd say to stay away. If someone took the time to drive out and locate a reef and dropped on it, it's kind of a dick move to drop on them.

200' on walls, If somebody is on a smaller rock pile then move on to another spot.
    DR

Thanks for the feedback.