Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Yosemite Fly Fishing Late September

Default Yosemite Fly Fishing Late September

FNN Team! I'm a newbie from Texas here and am so excited to hopefully receive some experienced wisdom.

I'm planning on going on a fly fishing trip in Yosemite (first time to be there) September 22-26. I'd prefer to be fishing in the backcountry away from the large crowds and also prefer to be fishing streams and rivers rather than lakes. I'm experienced in backpacking and fishing and will have two intermediately experienced fisherman with me.

Per my research, I've learned that the Lyell Canyon area above the TM basecamp is a good place to fish, based on my late-season trip and preferences. But, I'd love to hear any of your inputs as far as advice you may have to successfully pulling decently sized fish out of rivers and streams in late September in Yosemite.

Summary:
    1.) Where should I fish?
    2.) How big will the fish be?
    3.) What will be the difficulty level?
    4.) Where should I camp?
    5.) What flies would you recommend?

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for your help and I hope to hear from you all soon!

I would hire a guide!

sandtrout,

Thanks for the input, but we're not interested in hiring a guide - moreso interested in hiking to a relatively secluded area to fish a good area for a few days!

If you enter the park from the Eastern side of the Sierras, ( near Tioga Lake) the fishing is great and awesome opportunities for wild trout. Saddlebag lake and 20 lakes basin are located really close to the park entrance, and the camping is pretty good. high elevation camping though. I'd do my fishing in that area, then take a couple days to explore Yosemite. If you want more info. let me know.