Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shimano castaic or good substitute

Default Shimano castaic or good substitute

I have a shimano castaic, by far my favorite flipping reel. I have been using it for the last 14 years or so and I can't find anything that comes close to its purpose built fish-ability. Is there anything out there like it today? I found a few "newer" models for sale used but i don't like that the clutch bar doesn't go all the way across on them. I was also considering re-building it with a recurve handle and new internals like drag, bearings and gears. Would shimano be able to match compatible parts since the reel is no longer serviceable according to their website. any info would be helpful. or maybe some one has one they would sell me?

Shimano makes the Core in a flipping version I believe its Core 100 MGFV.

what's wrong with the reel?

Drags, and bearings you can still get aftermarket, which shouldnt be an issue. If you have any gearing or a shaft thats bent, then you might have an issue.
    the other thing you might want to do is buy a old used curado and scrap it for parts for your castaic.
    on ebay you might even be able to find someone selling just the gears.
    it might warant a call to shimano and see if someone might have a spare old gear laying on their desk.
    they might ship it to you just toget it off their work station.
    they are killer reels. i have the newer model and like it alot too.