Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY Anchor or Rental

Default DIY Anchor or Rental

Hi there,

I'm a newbie. I've been out to the upper lake a few times with friends and they like to fish by the buoy line by the upper left tip of the lake. Every time, they tie the rental boat onto the buoy line. From what I know, that's illegal and we could get a ticket. They laugh it off when I tell them, but I'm uneasy about it. The anchor that comes with the rental is pretty useless. Any tips on how to make a good anchor DIY style or a good place to buy a anchor that works well? My local big 5 didn't have one.

Another completely N00B question. With an anchor, how to I keep the boat still? I'd need something heavy enough to go 90 degrees straight down to hold the boat in place? If the line is at an angle, the boat could be moving around in whatever way the wind/current goes, right?

Quote Originally Posted by lonegeneral View Post
    Another completely N00B question. With an anchor, how to I keep the boat still? I'd need something heavy enough to go 90 degrees straight down to hold the boat in place? If the line is at an angle, the boat could be moving around in whatever way the wind/current goes, right?
    diy is a coffee can filled with cement and a o ring bolt with the nut on it pushed in the middle of a filled can...

if you want your boat to stay still in or in one spot drop anchor and let your boat move in to the spot you want with the anchor line on angle never straight up and down then throw another anchor off the opposite end of the boat and pull the line to snug should hole your boat pretty still we do this when we are finesse jigging with flashers.

if your anchor line is straight up and down and there is a wave it will lift the anchor off the bottom and you will move