Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Channel Islands Sportfishing  CCA-California  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  

Thread: Toronado 10-19-2013

Default Toronado 10-19-2013

buddy John got married. few of us got together to celebrate his last fishing day ever!

hit up the toronado leaving friday night fishing saturday. 14, ultra limited load, with 5 or so crew members. my group consisted of 5 of us, 2 were complete newbies, first cattle boat ever, and 1 was on his first overnighter ever.

met up at 8 pm, boat left the dock around 9. the dreamer had a good float going at cat so we scooched on in and had a nice go at the bait filling up all the tanks and then some in less than 20 minutes.

and off to clemente.

we hit clemente by 5 am and we were fishing the cove at dark and gray bite with little to show. by 9 am we had only 1 cuda and 1 bonito landed. Morale was pretty low.

then at 9 am Earl the pearl hooked up and landed the first Yellowtail of the trip. a small 7lb ish yellowtail but that was all the hope we needed. all the lines went back out and then the bite went WFO!

couldn't keep the lines in the water! It was as wide as it gets for about a half an hour and then just like that, the bite shut off. we had a couple other goes going with 2-5 hanging but nothing like that first half hour.

i was running around untangling my buddies' lines and re rigging and hook & passing but still managed to land 4 schoolie size yellows. the other 4 buddies were able to deck 1 each so all in our group caught at least one!

super stoked about the newbies getting yellows. 2 of them had them passed by me and a fellow passenger.

about the crew, chowder in the galley makes the best Breakfast burrito you'll ever get on a moo moo. imho.