Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Channel Islands Sportfishing  CCA-California  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  

Thread: Sunday 3-17-13 SAMO

Default Sunday 3-17-13 SAMO

I am just getting into surf fishing and this is my first report. I ended up just south of the SAMO pier on Sunday hoping to fish the afternoon high tide. This was the first time I've actually been able to get out and a fish a high tide and it certainly seemed to make a difference based on less successful, past surf trips when I went out when it was convenient and not based on the tide. I was using a Carolina rig, 1/2oz egg weight, and 2" camo sand worms. The water seemed pretty clear to me (but I'm still a novice, so not really sure what is and isnt clear), there were a few larger clumps of kelp is the surf but they were easily avoidable and did cause me any problems.

I started around 1330 and got a few smaller, palm sized BSP, which is what I've always caught in my short, month long fishing career. Then wham, something bigger than I had ever had on my line (not saying much but still...) pulled in a 12.5" BSP. Finally got one like everyone else on these forums posts

Started moving further North until, on one cast, it seemed almost the second it hit the water something hit it harder and moved differently than anything I was used to. And, when I finally brought in, a 14" bat ray (at least I thinks thats the correct species).