Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help for Big Bear

Default need help for Big Bear

looking for a little insight on fishing Big Bear this Sat, I know the derby was a little slow last weekend because of the thermocline but hopefully it will be a bit better this weekend. I will be fishing with a boat so I could use a few tips on what part of the lake to fish and what techniques to use for trout. I have read up on big bear and know that poeple use leadcore for trolling, I have no experience with leadcore but if that is my best option I am willing to try anything I have also heard that drifting works as well..........

all tips are welcome and appreciated.

Matt

If you want to bait and wait you need to ID where the thermocline is and use a slip bobber to get you into that zone. I'd bet around the 20' or so area. I normally fly fish with a full sink and that gets me down just right but early and late the fish will probably be up in the water column so during those hours of the day you might get away without the need of leadcore when trolling.

Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by seal View Post
    If you want to bait and wait you need to ID where the thermocline is and use a slip bobber to get you into that zone. I'd bet around the 20' or so area. I normally fly fish with a full sink and that gets me down just right but early and late the fish will probably be up in the water column so during those hours of the day you might get away without the need of leadcore when trolling.

Good luck
    Thanks,

what would you reccomend for lures/ bait?

As close to the dam as you can get, slip bobber 16-20' deep. Garlic Chartreuse powerbait size 18 treble hook. Put a egg weight or split shot under the bobber, tie on your barrel swivel with a 2' leader to your treble and let it sit