Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Best rod to fish lucky 110s in the surf, what's your opinion.

Default Best rod to fish lucky 110s in the surf, what's your opinion.

Hello every one,

I am shopping for a casting rod, i have researched, read reviews on different rods, visited all local tackle stores and even considered going custom. This is becoming a very tidius task, the war is about to kick off and I don't have all my weapons for my arsenal. I need help!

I need a rod thats light.
    8 ft or longer
    Whip in the tip
    Exposed rod blank for sensitivity
    And enough power to handle the unexpected.

What does "enough power to handle the unexpected" mean? I am a novice fisherman so my advice is probably not too sound, but from researching the site, I can tell you that I have seen people reel in monsters on 6 to 8 pound lines. I guess what I am saying is that the parameters that you post are too wide in spectrum to give a really good suggestion. I know you said casting, but I have a shimano terez spinning, the lightest one at 7'2" and rated for 15 to 30 pounds I think. Its a bit heavy duty for the surf maybe, but I am a beginner.

This rod is super fast on the action and the blanks are super thin and light. Love the rod.

Take a look at the thread in this forum re Shimano Cumara rods. They are on sale. I think that I may actually get one of these myself.