Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle 

Thread: Swimbait Rod Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Swimbait Rod Question

I have a new lot of swimbaits, all pretty heavy and about 6". What am I looking for in a rod for these? Does it have to be specifically a "swimbait" rod? What action? Med/hvy or heavy?

Thanks

A 6" swimbait is about an ounce in a half.

Look for a rod rated for about that weight, which should end up being a "Heavy" rod.

I'd be looking at a rod that's a tad parabolic for swimbaits.

Check out the G-Loomis 955 & 956. Both are 7'11" which give you the length to make those long casts and the 955 is a bit more parabolic then the 956. I personally like the 955 over the 956 for huddlestons and triple trouts but my buddy who is much more the bass guy ten me prefers the 956 - to each his own.

Thanks guys. Good advice. What does parabolic mean?

It means that your rod doesn't really stop bending all the way through the handle. Fast action rods stop bending more towards the tip while slower action rods bend (or shut off) further down the rod. Parabolic rods usually bend all the way to the handle. A rod being more parabolic doesn't necessarily mean that it bends all the way through the handle but that it will bend more then another rod. Really depends on the context of the conversation, hope this isn't too confusing.

Quote Originally Posted by AngryAgent View Post