Bass Pro Shops   Daveys Locker Sportfishing  Newport Landing Sportfishing   The Fishing Syndicate  Carver Covers  Tight Lines Guide Service  Bob Sands Fishing Tackle  

Thread: Skunked for the last time at Silverwood on Labor Day

Default Skunked for the last time at Silverwood on Labor Day

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie on this site, but have read a lot of information. I have fished all my life even though not very much in regularity. Recently, I have been reading a lot and fishing often trying a couple of lakes, with not much success. I grew up in Chino Hills, so about a month ago I thought I would try Prado, since I know the lake, from living nearby. Went early in the morning, caught nothing.....There were dead LMB, Catfish and thousands of shad floating around, so needless to say I'm done with that place. So a few weeks later I thought I would give Silverwood a try for a few different reasons. 1. They don't charge for fishing like almost every other place does. 2. It's in relative proximity to my current residence. 3. I haven't been there since I was a kid, and enjoyed it back then. But to my dismay, the first trip was not so good. I got there at about 7 a.m, first went to the marina parking lot didn't like the look of the fishing spots there, so I headed to Cleghorn. Spent half the day there didn't even get a bite, all I caught was nothing but algae LOL! So my father and I headed out to go to the dam, did some fishing there for a couple of hours, once again nothing for me. My father is an avid fisherman and I like to think he knows his stuff, which he does. He caught a tiny LMB, with a spinner behind a bobber. We tried everything Anchovies, topwater, cranks, plastics.....Nothing. So we called it a day since it was 100 degrees and headed out. But I was determined to catch something so on labor day I had a choice of either going back to the Wood, or DVL. I chose Silverwood one last time, and this time got there as soon as they opened, to beat the crowds. Tried to