PDA

View Full Version : Bass Tracker Pro 170 Leaking

MillsapBoyz
01-15-2017, 05:27 PM
Just found a small gouge in underside of the hull in my aluminum bass tracker pro 170. Can any of you recommend the best way to fix this?

enohserf
01-15-2017, 06:48 PM
I had a similar problem to my fiberglass hull. It had a pretty bad inward and outward leak. I had gallons of water in the bilge after each trip. I had about a 20 inch gouge and a 2 inch gouged opening down the centerline. A friend of mine vacuumed out the water and it was still leaking out! While it was leaking he applied bondo on the opening and the leak stopped. Right after that he applied a generous coat of resin and fiberglass, alternating the resin and fiberglass a few times. Rock Solid! I haven't had even 1 drop in the bilge for years. It's been bone dry. Bottom was gouged out from hitting the trailer cross bar. We had to raise the bunk boards on the trailer too. Not sure how it would work on aluminum. I'm not an expert but this worked like a charm for me.

P.A.W.
01-15-2017, 06:58 PM
Well, since Trackers are welded I'd go that route. Any decent welding shop can fix it in 5 minutes. You might have some decent luck with JB Weld too. But since I HATE dealing with niggling problems on the water I'd just get it fixed right. Should be less than $50 for sure.

Ssortasober
01-15-2017, 07:05 PM
I second the jb weld, it worked for me

enohserf
01-15-2017, 07:10 PM
Having it fixed the right way is always a good bet. Just be careful with the gas tank if you get it welded.

MillsapBoyz
01-15-2017, 09:09 PM
Well, since Trackers are welded I'd go that route. Any decent welding shop can fix it in 5 minutes. You might have some decent luck with JB Weld too. But since I HATE dealing with niggling problems on the water I'd just get it fixed right. Should be less than $50 for sure.