PDA

View Full Version : Tips?

briseno09
08-11-2016, 08:04 PM
Hey guys, I am fairly new to fishing and new to this forum. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on fishing these lakes? I have a trip planned with a few friends for this Saturday morning. I have yet to catch my first fish and I'm really hoping to catch one this weekend. I have two rods and reels(both spinning). One is a Zebco(my beginner rod), and I just picked up an Ugly Stik GX2, specifically for this trip. The Zebco came pre spooled with 2 pound test I believe. I have a fresh spool of some 15 pound microfilament test that I am going to spool onto the Ugly Stik. I also picked up some crankbaits, circle hooks, weights, a scale, and a large set of plastics(senkos, and other bass-related items).

I was going to try another lake like Legg lake, or perhaps Santa Fe dam, but I don't know which place will give me my best shot at catching some fish. Any hint, tips, suggestions, are welcome. Thanks in advance guys.

Ornery Bob
08-12-2016, 07:42 AM
I've never fished the others, but I'm familiar with Santa Ana River Lakes and at this time of year, they're stocking catfish and tilapia (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv405QkKLmw&list=TL_wy8J5OE8a0xMjA4MjAxNg). I've never fished for tilapia, but for catfish, I've always used a Carolina rig and any kind of oily/stinky bait from strips of cut mackerel to the Berkley catfish powerbaits. The typical setup is to cast out, let the sinker hit bottom and then reel in until you have tension on the line and then back off to give some slack and then wait.

15lb test is a bit of overkill for So Cal lakes, but it's not a problem in any way. Catfish aren't line shy in my experience.