PDA

View Full Version : Rookie on an overnight trip

bigCBall
05-12-2016, 01:04 PM
Hi All,
I'm relatively new to the game. I've gone out of Newport Harbor a few times as a kid (8-9yrs old) and havent until recently (now mid-30s) gone back out fishing the high seas. Obviously, i'm very inexperienced, but I am having fun being out there whether i catch anything or not. That being said, i was looking into going on an overnight trip (out of Long Beach) and would appreciate any advice.

Would it be a waste of money and time going?
What sort of tackle do i need to bring? Is this provided?

Thanks!

BALLERONBUDGET
05-12-2016, 10:34 PM
Geez. No responses???? A decent medium stick shud do the trick. Maybe a torium 30/saltist 30 also fair reels that don't break the bank $$ 30lb mono is good to start off also. Leads pair of each torpedoes 2 4 6 8 10 12 oz. slider egg sinkers 1/2 to 1oz. Hooks diff sizes 1. 2 4 6. Depends on siZe of bait basically. Irons if u can throw them well. Facebook ocean angler from corona!! Great guy and cheapest lead around! Not the $4 each that the shops charge.

Big Spin cast reels if u need. Most guys bring average of atleast 4 rods each!!!!! Some more or less.

I've seen jackpot winners on rental poles next to guys who hv $500 combos. !! It's mainly luck and fun regardless

Good luck. My 2cents

webmaster
05-13-2016, 06:44 AM
Right now is a great time to go. Lots of stuff is biting, it shouldn't be hard to catch something. Best tip is to pay attention to the guy who is catching the most and do / use what he is doing. Baller hit it on the tackle, also ask the guys at the landing as they usually know what is working at the time.

jaggerbub
05-13-2016, 07:51 AM
Just keep your line in front of you when fishing. No angles, no tangles. You'll make more friends that way, and most importantly, you won't be "that guy" everyone stays away from.

bigCBall
05-13-2016, 08:13 AM