PDA

View Full Version : Anyone going surf casting for perch or calicos? wpould love to join you and learn

h00ker
04-06-2016, 10:46 AM
Hey guys!!

I'm new to fishing, I would love to join you in either catching some surfperch or calico this weekend. Anyone planning on doing this?

Whenever I go fishing, I always get skunked and not sure if its something I'm doing. having someone there that I can watch would be awesome. I reside in diamond bar but usually drive to either laguna, Newport, seal, hunnington or long beach. I'm open to new areas. Lt me know!!!
:EyePop::EyePop::EyePop::EyePop:

Tight Lines!

WCAngler
04-07-2016, 01:23 AM
I wouldn't be free to go anytime soon, I'm pretty busy with school, but I'd be able to share some tips for surf perch.

I'm no expert, I've been surf fishing 3 times: I caught skunked the first time, 4 surf perch the second time, and 7 surf perch the 3rd.

I've never caught calicos, but here's all I know about surf perch...

First, you want to find a stretch of beaches with a steeper slope because this means the water will be deeper. Once you find this, find an area with larger waves. Not crazy huge waves, but also not tiny baby waves on a beach with little current - the surf perch, along with all other predatory surf perch generally like larger crashing waves. Ever time a wave crashes, food (sand worms, sand fleas, shrimp) gets dislodged from the sand, so calmer beaches might not have as much perch action as a beach with medium sized waves.