PDA

View Full Version : Dam Stripers

Fishnfun
06-01-2015, 08:30 AM
I've been getting a lot of good information from a FNN member on how to fish the dam at Castaic for stripers. One method is to bait up a bloodworm or lugworm, toss it out on a c-rig and wait for a bite. I assume that the worm is just crawling around on the lake bottom and hopefully a striper comes by and sees it. I have zero experience fishing with blood or lug worms. Never even handled one. So, my question is why not blow-up the blood or lug worm with a little air using a worm blower like those used to blow-up a night crawler when fishing for trout? This way the blood or lug worm floats a little off the bottom which makes it easier for the stripers to see and keeps it out of any bottom weeds. Good idea?

cutbait
06-01-2015, 08:42 AM
Be careful with those blood worms. They have sharp and big teeth. That's why they are called blood worms.

Since you've never handled them becareful. Treat them like you would a rattlesnake. Pinch them behind the head so they can't strike you and sink those teeth in. Once you get the hook in the worm quickly release the head in a flinging manner because they can strike up to 1/3 their body length.

You might need a buddy to help you blow it up while you focus on holding the head, but your theory sounds solid

I know a guy who once had a tub of those fall in his lap and the lid came off. Took 38 stitches to sew him up.

Becareful out there and good luck, hope to see a report

Stormcrow
06-01-2015, 08:57 AM
Be careful with those blood worms. They have sharp and big teeth. That's why they are called blood worms.

Since you've never handled them becareful. Treat them like you would a rattlesnake. Pinch them behind the head so they can't strike you and sink those teeth in. Once you get the hook in the worm quickly release the head in a flinging manner because they can strike up to 1/3 their body length.