PDA

View Full Version : A little slow on the Owens River

billy b
12-02-2014, 09:42 AM
I'm just learning the area between Hiway 6 and Big Pine ... so I may need to learn the river a little more. It seemed like the water levels might have been low in areas where there could be nice pools. I did drift some mice tails and Gulp salmon eggs behind a couple of small sshots with no luck. I accidentally left the NC's and PMartins (black with gold, right?) behind. So, maybe that was the problem. Maybe it was fished too heavily over the holiday week???

I know there are drifters through the area I was in ... and I wondered if they aren't fishing places I can't get to ...???

I'm always lookin for help and/or tips

GUD FIZHUN to y'all

DEVOREFLYER
12-02-2014, 09:48 AM
Live Crickets is the go to bait on the Lower Owens on an egg hook under a split shot and 2# leader.

Piss on Myspace
12-02-2014, 10:38 AM
Stick to the meat and metals...leave the Berkley products at home for the still waters. The fish you are targeting are not the recent planters that would often be fooled by these colorful baits....There's better fish in the Owens besides the stocked bows

billy b
12-02-2014, 12:53 PM
Stick to the meat and metals...leave the Berkley products at home for the still waters. The fish you are targeting are not the recent planters that would often be fooled by these colorful baits....There's better fish in the Owens besides the stocked bows

Hmm ... good input. I was using what Reagan's suggested.

Not lookin for honey holes ... but wondering if they good ones can be found in walk up areas? Maybe I should try the Wild Trout section?

Thanks for the input PoM and Devore

DEVOREFLYER
12-02-2014, 01:02 PM
Take the dirt road that parallels the river north or south off of Line Street. Check it out on Google Earth, the dirt roads even show up on my gps unit. If it is wet or muddy you should have 4wd. Lots of good places to wet your line. Tight lines.

billy b
12-02-2014, 01:34 PM