PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Setups On Party Boat

lonegeneral
07-14-2014, 02:58 AM
Hello, I'm quite new to deep sea fishing and have gone out to local party boats (1/2, 3/4 day trips) a number of times this year. So far, it has been mostly bottom fishing for Sand Dabs, Sculpin, Groupers, Reds, etc. I'm still a 1 rod guy, which a 15-30lb rating rod and a Penn Jigmaster (25lb mono). It's been working well enough.

I see that most regulars bring multiple rods, some of them 5+ setup onto the 1/2 and 3/4 day trips. I'm sure there's a good reason for it other than having a backup in case 1 rod malfunctions. Can someone educate me on the top reasons for bringing multiple rods on such trips? If I were to start bringing additional rods, what would be a good direction and setup?

Thanks!

.:LOLLY:.
07-14-2014, 10:51 AM
Different line ratings. I like to throw lighter stuff for bass and barracuda but when that doesn't work I'll switch to a heavier set-up for rock fishing. If you're taking multiple set-ups you also might want to keep an eye on your stuff at all times. Some people are not so honest. I prefer to take one rod and two reels. I'll keep the one that's not in use inside of my back pack.

zzzfish
07-14-2014, 11:32 AM