PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for a new guy

The_Dude
01-06-2014, 12:15 PM
So I finally decided that I am going to give surf fishing a try. Been reading this site for a while and seems like a lot of fun. Went out yesterday morning from 9am to 12 pm and fished the surf between balboa pier and the jetty.

Started off throwing a carolina rig with a Motor Oil/Christmas tree grub from big hammer and couldn't get bit. Decided then to try a halloween big hammer on a 1/2 oz lead head and walked the beach for close to 2 hours without a bite.

From reading these forums it seems like the go to is either the LC or I have seen people talk about the berkely sandworms, which I had and never tried.

have the days of the grubs and swimbaits like big hammer come and gone or was I just not in the right spots. I did notice that the water was real clear as well and am not sure if that was any part of the problem.

I am extremely new at surf fishing so any tips that you pro's could give me would be greatly appreciated. Since I am located in Orange County I am mainly looking to fish my local beaches but travel is always something I am willing to do.

skunked4life
01-06-2014, 12:42 PM
Welcome to the forums. Since you seem like you know enough about the sport in general, I will not bore you with the basics. Here are my $0.02:

1. BH do work, I have seen many use them with success. I personally have not had much success with them. You may try cutting them into 2 to 2.5 inch hammers and make them into mini-hammers. They seem like they were the hot ticket for 2013.

2. Gulp SW (aka crack) are a good starter bait. LC's are great too (that is all I throw). But--you could be flinging everything in the kitchen sink and still skunk. That is just the name of the game. If they aren't home, move to the next neighborhood.