PDA

View Full Version : Catch more and bigger perch, guaranteed!!!

City Dad
11-05-2013, 10:23 AM
Not gonna mince words - our in-shore fisheries are over-fished. Don’t believe me? Ask any local old enough to remember the 60s.

So, the reality is; either you are part of the problem or part of the solution.

I’m not a catch-and-release zealot. Do what you want (only Bigfoot can judge you.)

If what you want to do is conserve by selective harvest, I have some information that may be of interest to you.

The gender of barred surf perch can be easily determined.

Here’s how:

Male barred surf perch have a pronounced notch in their anal fin. It is a reproductive adaptation.

http://fishinghotpage.com/images/fnn/maleperch.jpg
Can you see it?

Female barred surf perch DO NOT have this notch.

http://fishinghotpage.com/images/fnn/femaleperch.jpg

Dig it?

Now, I’m no scientist, but even I know this basic fact: A single male can mate with multiple females. Therefore, removing a male(s) only from a population, over time, will have less of an impact on over-all numbers than removing males and females or females only.

So, if you think it might be cool for your grandkids to know what a barred perch over 10” looks like, well, you just might wanna try throwin’ the mamas back once in a while.

I am not sorry if this offends you.

tracker16
11-05-2013, 12:02 PM
Thanks good information.

midgettosser1
11-05-2013, 01:31 PM
I always make sure to release pregnant female perch.... after I squeeze all the live young into my mouth.

Homefish
11-29-2013, 07:39 PM
Thanks City Dad, Great info! Got any similar info & pics of other surf fish species?

City Dad
12-05-2013, 10:20 AM
Thanks City Dad, Great info! Got any similar info & pics of other surf fish species?

If I ever manage to finally catch another surf species, I'll let you know!

keepemlo
01-21-2016, 07:38 PM