PDA

View Full Version : Eastern or Western Sierras?

chappy23us
07-26-2013, 04:46 PM
Good evening all,

I have been fishing the eastern sierras for the past 20 years fishing from Bishop to Bridgeport but I have never fished the western side. I have a week off from work next week and I can't decide whether to head up the 395 to Mammoth or take a shot in a new area by going up to Shaver Lake. I am a little concerned that the elevation of Shaver Lake (think it is about 5200 ft) will make it too warm for trout fishing but I think I have a few other options at higher elevation such as Edison, Huntington or Courtright. I will be doing mostly bait/wait shore fishing with my 6/7 year old boys. Is the fishing just as good on the western side? Anyone have any advice on where I should go? Also any campground advice near Shaver Lake would be great. Thanks in advance for any replies.

abovi001
07-26-2013, 05:28 PM
Hey Chappy,

I grew up going to Hungtington lake each year and there are numerous lakes to hike to in that area that are awesome! Hunginton is great with a couple campgrounds, shaver is indeed lower elevation and they raise / lower the lake constantly. Edison is good but quite a bit longer drive. Another good lake is Ward, definitely take a look into this lake!

A word of warning though is I know there is a fire over there right now and i think the huntington and shaver areas might be closed right now due to smoke, fireman camps, etc. http://www.mercurynews.com/california/ci_23738249/calif-fire-leads-campground-closures

That might impede some of your efforts getting around that area

Enjoy your time off! I wish i could get up there haven't in two summer, i was backpacking up there once a year for awhile

AB

Bobber Boy
07-26-2013, 05:29 PM