PDA

View Full Version : Rod and Reel for redondo sportfishing boat?

socal310
07-18-2013, 05:47 PM
Im new to boat fishing, pretty new to fishing but really enjoy it and want to learn more. I want to go on a 1/2 day boat but not sure what to bring? I would like to buy a rod/reel that would work for boat and general saltwater fishing.

So what size rod and what kind of reel and line and bait should i use?

Sorry for the noob question, just trying to learn and dont know anyone really to ask. Thanks in advance

DockRat
07-18-2013, 07:30 PM
Need to know your budget.

One guy will tell you about a $400 rig.
I would say get a Penn Jigmaster and a $40 rod for starters.
The boat will have bait.
DR

socal310
07-18-2013, 09:02 PM
Need to know your budget.

One guy will tell you about a $400 rig.
I would say get a Penn Jigmaster and a $40 rod for starters.
The boat will have bait.
DR

Thanks for the reply man, how much will that reel run? And for a 40$ rod, should 7-7.5 feet be good? Any particular make? price range is like 150-200 for the whole thing

Would the same setup work for a little skiff around redondo too? Im gonna be goin out with a friend this week he has a little skiff.

Frequent Flyer
07-18-2013, 09:08 PM
7 footer is good for half day, 8 foot will get you better castability and your bait farther away from the rest. On half days you're going to be after bass/barracuda/bottom fish most of the time so just get a rod rated either from 10-25, or 20-40.

Load your reel up with 20 lb mono, and youre good to go. get some 2/0 flyliner hooks, some 1/4 - 1 oz sliding sinkers and enjoy.

socal310
07-18-2013, 09:34 PM
7 footer is good for half day, 8 foot will get you better castability and your bait farther away from the rest. On half days you're going to be after bass/barracuda/bottom fish most of the time so just get a rod rated either from 10-25, or 20-40.