PDA

View Full Version : Im new to catfishing

Matt22
06-27-2013, 09:58 AM
Im planing to fish at guasti for catfish i Have never fished for catfish and i was wondering i could get and tip on the rigs i should use or bait

quix
06-27-2013, 10:11 AM
I'm no expert, but I can give you the advice I've gotten.

Baits - cut sardines, anchovies, mackerel. Chicken or beef liver.
Line - since you're fishing for stocked cats, they're not going to be outrageously big. I usually use 8-12lb mono depending on the rod. Medium to medium heavy.

Don't bother with lures or anything artificial. They follow scent and love stinky things.

Fly line the baits. If the water is deep, add a couple of split shots to drop your bait down to the bottom. They stay down there... especially on hot sunny days.

Loosen your drag. Let the fish take off with the bait a little before you set the hook. If they feel resistance, they spit it out.

Once you bring the fish out of the water, handle with care. Don't put your hand anywhere in its mouth. Don't touch the fins, they will pierce your skin and it hurts like a mother.

Good luck and enjoy! That's all I know.

Matt22
06-27-2013, 10:20 AM
Thanks i have a 4 lb line you think that would be fine

angelsfan951
06-27-2013, 10:26 AM
Thanks i have a 4 lb line you think that would be fine

for guasti i think 4 lb would be a fun fight. i sometimes take my UL rods and reels when fishing local parks and its definitely a fun fight just take ur time and dont try to force them in or u will snap ur line. Or if you want to be safer put on some 6 to 8lb line and you should be good. for baits quix nailed it. if that doesnt work add some stink bait to it. i usually use hogwild but every1 prefers their own. also if the fish are farther out i like to use a carolina rig with a 1/8oz sinker just to get out the bait. good luck out there

quix
06-27-2013, 10:44 AM