PDA

View Full Version : total beginner wants to start fishing, where and what to fish near San Fran?

bob13bob@gmail.com
06-25-2013, 09:50 PM
I've been dropping down the rabbit hole in to fishing. Been doing a ton of youtubing and reading. With so many types of fishing, I'm overwhelmed. I'm looking on guidance on what direction I should go to research further. Also what equipment should i purchase to start?

i’m open to any type that can be cast from the bank/pier: fresh water, river, stream, lake, salt water fishing. Trout, bass, crappie, cat fish?. no boats/kayaks/personal floaters.

I’m looking for something thats
-easy. I would like to catch something, anything. Anything good in July, August? What months fishing are typically best?
-not much $$ investment. just looking to dip my toes here. I’m willing to buy waders, poles, lure, etc.. but not a boat or kayak.
-convenient. closer around SF would be better. Ideally something within 80 min drive. I’m willing to hike or mountain bike out to spots.

I’ve been eyeballing the costco shimano rod + shimano reel setup. I think it was advertised as medium action, the reel can hold 200 yd of 6lb line. Is this a good direction to go?

Caliyak
06-26-2013, 08:58 AM