PDA

View Full Version : new angler trying out big bear lake!

badnews
06-21-2013, 10:51 PM
Hi I'm new at fishing. I've tried Santa Monica pier using shrimp and caught a leopard shark. Tried camarrillo pier using mussel and caught a white croaker and a crab. So far I've had luck in salt water. I've tried freshwater using jigs, lures and power bait for trout at castaic, balboa lake, Hansen dam, and echo park with no luck. I saw online that big bear is getting restocked soon so I want to go try my luck there. I have a black and silver minnow spinner, a hard plastic crawdad, a pink and white minnow spinner, a pink and white shad that sinks to 6 to 8 ft and a couple spoons. What lures, jigs, or baits would be best recommended there? I'm really anxious to catch my first freshwater fish! Preferably trout!
Thanks for recommendations!!!

Troutin Man
06-21-2013, 11:40 PM
I am up at BBL and it is real tough fishing. I did not see one person catch today. I had no luck. Got out to Windy Point by 5am until 9 am using power bait varieties and also Firebait. I also used various BiteOn scents. Nothing. Fished by the dam...a ton of people everywhere and did not see anyone catch. I caught one small dinker bass using a brown trout spoon near the dam on Thursday afternoon. Think the full moon, winds from east the beast and high fishing pressure is making it tough.

I am up here a few more days so hopefully luck changes. BBL is a tough lake if you are not trolling right now that's for sure so I'm doing that Saturday.

badnews
06-22-2013, 12:30 AM
I'm planning on going a day after the restocking so hopefully the fish are hyped up and ready to explore a new world and are curious enough to bite. Would trolling be best recommended rather than live bait or powerbait?

esteban1t
06-22-2013, 12:59 AM