PDA

View Full Version : Shimano Tiagra 50A or 30A- HELP ME DECIDE!

TypicalJess
05-14-2013, 08:48 PM
I'm new to FNN so if an answer to this question has already been posted, please accept my apologies.

I am looking into purchasing a Shimano Tiagra reel to start up my "HEAVY" gear.
I currently have a 6'6" 20-50lb rod with a Shimano Talica 12 (2 speed lever drag, with 50#Jerry Brown, 25# Fluoro) This is currently my only setup.

I am looking to do a little more fishing in San Diego and maybe even further south this season and I need some help from you experienced anglers.Which would be best for fishing for Tuna (150lb range), and maybe some billfish down south? I am concerned with possibly having too much gear, or too little gear. I have never taken a multi day fishing trip and would like to do a 2 day without being worried about getting spooled! I also don't want to haul around a 50 when a 30 will do the job.

I appreciate your help and any tips you can provide me are greatly appreciated!

Here are some of the specs:
TI30A Braid: 50lb/1805yd, 65lb/1065yd, 80lb/770yd Drag: Max Full 34lb, Strike 25lb.
TI50A Braid: 80lb/1135yd, 100lb/930yd, 150lb/865yd Drag: Max Full 37lb, Strike 28lb.

jaggerbub
05-14-2013, 11:02 PM
I'm taking my first 3.5 day this summer and the captain said all I would need is a 20,30,40 outfit and a 80 trolling setup. Most of the time 30 will be all you will need for this kind of trip. So if you are looking at a two day as you have mentioned you don't need "cow" gear unless if that's your goal for future trips. Just load up your reels with braid and bring some flouro leader. I think a couple reels that hold 300 yds spectra would be sufficient for your 2 day. I loaded up my reels with 40-60 spectra and plan to put a topshot for each reel with 20 30 & 40 flouro. I'm also taking some 50-80 flouro as well just in case we run into a bigger grade of tunas as they did last season.