PDA

View Full Version : Castaic Report for TB

Bassfan
05-12-2013, 10:32 AM
TB, I went to Castaic for the first time this year yesterday. Optimistically bought a season pass. Thought they have to be starting soon so I wanted to see what it looked like. Thought I’d be a pioneer! I asked the guy in the bait shop before I launched and he really didn’t know much except that the bass fishing is good and the he said stripers are still deep. I found that hard to believe so I was on my own to start the search.

As a slight disclaimer, I do not have the skill level of the Bako boys or most of the good striper guys out there. I never caught a striper before last August when a boil fish was kind enough to get stuck on my lure. Thanks to two trips with TO and some bait experience with fishinone I have put away my share in the last 9 months but I am still a beginner so your experience at Castaic may differ.
Put on the U-rigs and started at C point. Covered the entire ski arm down the right side, across the front of the buoy line and half way up the west side of the ski arm. Didn’t see anything very interesting on the ff, just the occasional small ball of baitfish or a few arches that never hit the rigs. Saw a baby rattlesnake swimming around far from shore, I guess his GPS was broken. I was the only guy I saw in the ski arm striper fishing. Everybody else was after bass and I did see quite a few being caught.