PDA

View Full Version : any good fishing area around me?

lunker-hunter209
04-29-2013, 08:27 PM
I live close to huntington beach and im new at shore fishing. Does anyone know any great spots for halibuts?

PTN
04-29-2013, 09:01 PM
Bolsa Chica Beach all the way to Seal Beach is your best bet. Caught them at all those beaches and in between before. BC inlet is popular for halibut.

lunker-hunter209
04-30-2013, 02:37 PM
Ok. So no on huntington beach.

vanillagurilla
04-30-2013, 05:25 PM
Huntington beach is good, just need to cover some sand an focus on structure.

PTN
04-30-2013, 10:12 PM
Ok. So no on huntington beach.

I never really tried HB so I couldn't tell you if it's productive for halibut. I wouldn't see why it would be that much different from the beaches close to it. But like vanillagurilla says, focus on structure. :Smile: Jetties, mouth inlets, etc.

FishNfry
05-02-2013, 12:31 PM
Lunker,

I live in the HB area as well. I just started surf fishing this past month and looking to gain some experience. I have been going to the BC Inlet a couple times this past week and up by Warner last week. Got some bites but haven't reeled anything in yet. I'll be hitting it up in the evenings and this weekend as well. Give me a shout if your down that way.

lunker-hunter209
05-03-2013, 11:58 AM
Yesterday and today I was fishing on HB. I took everyone advise and still I didn't catch a fish. What am I doing wrong? Is it bc the tide is low? All I used is lc lure.

vanillagurilla
05-03-2013, 12:13 PM
Fishing during low tide isn't the best time, usually around high tide but as long as it's not slack you have a chance. Judt because your using an lc doesn't mean your going to catch one, it takes time but you will get one. I've ben lots of days where I didn't catch anything and a few days where I caught all short butts and verrry few days wherw I take home more then one fish.

skunked4life
05-03-2013, 12:58 PM