PDA

View Full Version : Affordable Mini Jig Rod, beginner angler looking for advice.

gokuguy
02-12-2013, 03:44 AM
Hey guys, Long time reader of these forums, first time poster.

I just had a question about equipment I was hoping some of you could give me some advice on. I've been fishing for 15+ years with my pops usually in Arizona along the Colorado river, the Dams, drain ditches, and lakes along the indian reservation. Mainly go for bass, catfish, carp, bluegill, and trout during the winter months. It's been a while since my pops and I have been able to make it out fishing together, but my love for fishing has been renewed recently since I was able to introduce fishing to a bunch of my close buddies. They're all hooked now. :D

Now, Ive been using most of my dad's equipment this far, and am now interested in piecing together my own gear. My dad has a mixture of Shimano and Daiwa reels/rods, mostly ultra light, fast action, in the 5'6 to 6'0 range, which I use for rigging a Carolina rig with powerbait, or attaching a spinner ( Rooster tails, panther martins and super duper being the lures I use most). 6# main line attached to a barrel swivel and a fluorocarbon 4# leader.

Now, We have been fishing at Lake Dixon and Lake Poway since the local lakes (irvine, sarl, etc) charge a considerable amount more for the permit. 6-8 of us in a group at 25 bux apiece can get pretty expensive pretty fast.