PDA

View Full Version : First time on the surf! N. SAMO 1/2/13

connordoyle
01-02-2013, 03:17 PM
I finally did it! After collecting materials and waiting for my 2013 license to come into play I went out at my first opportunity. For the past year i've been fishing piers very frequently and occasionally going out on some charter boats. Obviously fishing the surf is a very very different thing. So after much research I got a pack of Gulp camo sandworms, swim baits and a Daiwa DS Minnow. I decided that north santa monica would be my first place to try it all out. After just driving up the 1 I saw a decent place to park and some jetties so I thought i'd give it a try. This was around 10am. My first choice was the camo worm from all the info I gathered that seemed to be the best choice. I tossed it around for a good 30 minutes and nothing. I just assumed that im a rookie and i probably wont catch anything today any way. So then I tried the Daiwa hard bait (which i got as a cheaper alternative to the LC) Second cast, bam one of the biggest BSP i've ever seen let alone caught. I couldnt have been happier, I left my phone in the car, afraid of getting it wet so now pics this time. I fished till around 1:40 with a total of 8 or 9 fish all in the 8-13" range. at the end i tried the swim bait for no results, I did manage to get a follower though. I left a very happy man, all the fish were released.

I was super pleased the hard bait, for half as much as the LC it seems its a pretty good deal, let me know your experiences with them.
http://i1296.photobucket.com/albums/ag19/Connor_Doyle/photo_zps0fab6b9c.jpg

I'm looking to learn as much as possible, if you see me out there please say hello.

peanutbutter
01-02-2013, 03:32 PM
atleast you got into them ill see if i see you on the weekends when i can get out

Wingnut
01-02-2013, 03:46 PM
Well done Connor, great job!
You did the research, went out there and gave it a shot. :Thumbs Up: