PDA

View Full Version : Beginner locations to start kayaking?

Got_fish?
12-27-2012, 05:39 PM
I just bought a Malibu pro 2 tandem kayak. I'm completely new to the sport so I'm a little hesitant to take it out onto venturing waters. Any areas around Los Angeles where you'd recommend I start of at?
I won't be doing any fishing of the kayak just yet, I just want to familiarize myself to the sport until I feel comfortable enough. Not looking for any kayak rental locations or anything like that , I just want to get out their and try it myself
Thanks in advance, I appreciate any and all tips and advice =)

casting call
12-27-2012, 06:16 PM
Naples Island in long beach

Got_fish?
12-27-2012, 07:33 PM
are their any fee's i should know about?

E man
12-27-2012, 07:44 PM
Castaic lagoon is a good place. If you want to avoid fees and just want to get the yak wet go to hansen dam.

Got_fish?
12-27-2012, 08:01 PM
i was actualy planning to go to lake piru this weekend.. which i know is close to castiac
would castiac be a better option
over at piru, your restricted to a very narrow path of water to paddle
is it the same at castiac?

casting call
12-27-2012, 08:03 PM
are their any fee's i should know about?

No fees. Go to the beach at the end of belmont shore off 2nd street to launch. You can paddle all around Naples island through the canals, and even paddle up to the Pacifica Marina shopping center, tie up your yak and grab lunch. If youre not sure where this beach is, just go to belmont shore, and just ask anybody there where the kayak rentals are, thats where you can launch.

Got_fish?
12-27-2012, 08:26 PM
thanks man, i appreciate the help

DockRat
12-29-2012, 08:17 PM
King Harbor has a hand launch dock next to the short pier by Ruby's.
You have to pay for parking.

Another LB spot is the sailing center. Free street ( close 100' ) parking, free launch and a hose to rinse off. Check the map at the below website.
DR