PDA

View Full Version : Puddingstone crappie advice

SoCalFisher606
10-18-2012, 03:26 PM
Hello everybody. I'm relatively new to crappie fishing and I've only recently started getting into it. Ive tried a lot of different things but to no luck. I mainly fish puddingstone. I've fished back in sailboat cove and near the docks. I've also fished on the east shore south of the high pier, and also in the cove next to swim beach. I've used a large variety of things but with no luck. I've tried jigging under a bobber with tube body jigs in just about every color. I've also tried the marabou jigs. I've also tried putting crappie nibbles on the jigs too. And lastly, I've tried beetle spin spinners, with the white body, and the red eye. Out of all of these things, I haven't caught one fish. Can anyone give me any tips or advice? It would be much appreciated. Thank you

RTG
10-19-2012, 08:06 PM
Hey "SoCal", crappie are my favorites. Unfortunately I've never fished Puddingstone so I really can't help there. I can tell you this though, this is a little bit of a tough time of year to get crappies. In the fall the crappies will usually get in a late season bite, but they're a little hard to find. They are usually just offshore, and depending on the lake they could be in 10 to 25 feet of water. If you find them, they'll bite. If you have access to a long dock that leads to deep water that would be a good place to start. I pretty much just use small tube jigs. Depending on the fish's mood I use 1/32 oz, or 1/64 oz. The usual patterns produce well for me; red/white, yellow/white, grasshopper, plain white, chartreuse, etc. I almost never need to tip them. I haven't been out for a couple weeks (it's huntin' season), but last time I did go I got a limit...at "my" lake. You still have time to get them before winter sets in and they quit biting 'til spring.

FISHING ALL DAY BABY
10-20-2012, 07:07 AM