PDA

View Full Version : newbie coming through

ltran562
09-23-2012, 06:35 PM
been lurking on this forum for quite a while now. i guess you can say i've been taking notes from the best! thanks for all your tips and reports :) anyway here's my report.

I'm a student waiting to go back to school in January.. so I took advantage of my free time and fished/surfed Monday-Sunday. lots of slow days, but a few pretty decent days.

Monday: Bolsa Chica, Huntington Beach, Newport... one 10" corbina snagged when i was bringing my line in (i don't count it as a catch o_O)

Tuesday: Bolsa Chica... skunked!

Wednesday: Bolsa Chica, Huntington Beach Harbor... skunked! went kayak fishing at HB Harbor because the winds were just too crazy for me to do anything with swimbaits. thought I'd try to switch things up with my buddy and try the HB Harbor. it was a first for me. I heard it was the holy land for spotties... but not that day apparently :\ i had a few flatties surface when i brought up my swimbait but i couldn't get them to bite! we had a staredown for a while. eventually it got spooked and ran off... i win? still a beautiful day out on the water so there really wasn't much to complain about. however my arms did feel like noodles at the end of the day
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v687/itslimmylim/IMG_20120919_124055_zps81fa2fb5.jpg

Thursday: took a day off from all the fishing frustration and went surfing. had to soothe the soul
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v687/itslimmylim/IMG_20120920_105625_zpsa107e35f.jpg