PDA

View Full Version : Lunker Kitty at SFD 9/4/12

Carptain_Bao
09-04-2012, 10:17 PM
Well, I decided to hit up SFD after a nap. Woke up late at 4:30 and got to the lake at 5:15. Set up my usual floater pole with a 9ft 5wt fy rod with a spinning reel lol
Then I tested out my newly bought FOX feeder rig with a size 10 baitholder hair rig with boilie and corn. It's my first time using my cheap ***** rod pod and bite alarm. But It works just fine for me. Met up with another regular then Justme and wife showed up. Right after they set up their pole they hooked up a nice sized cat. Not so long after that my bite alarm went on I caught a 1.5 lber kitty as well. Gave the fish away to the gentleman who helped me net the fish. Then the bite was pretty steady. I got another bite on my feeder rig, the fish ws taking off jumping out of the water like a carp but when I brought the fish close I found it was a kitty weighted 3.6 pounds. Released it after a photo. Then next one I didn't even put the sardine boilie on the hair rig, just 3 whole kernel corn because I was thinking about eliminating the possibilities of catching the cats. Then the alarm was on again! Pulled my rod up it feels kinda like a carp but it didnt actually take off, instead it was swimming towards the shore. But when it got close to the bank it went insane, took me a while to tired him out. Justme helped me landed the cat. When it was in the net I was like "damn that was a huge one! Bigger than the one I've caught at the vine!" Weighted this one it was 3.2 kg, which is 7lb even! That was definitely my personal best cat or the personal best of all times. Justme and wife caught a few kitties as well. It was good to see so much action today. Thanks again for netting me the fish Justme and your wife's awesome photoshooting lol
While I was packing up I ran into another FNNer which I believe the name is CorbinaFisher or something like that. Hopefully you beat the skunk!