PDA

View Full Version : advice with surfishing?

Got_fish?
04-17-2012, 09:24 PM
planning to go surf fishing this weekend with my little brother.. im new to this kind of fishing and any information regarding on what bait, type of gear and especialy on which beaches i should go to first would be appreciated.. i live in LA

bones
04-18-2012, 10:33 PM
All you need to get started....

http://fishingnetwork.net/forum4/showthread.php?14334-Surf-Fishing-101-The-Basics

Good luck and we are looking forward to your report!

Got_fish?
04-19-2012, 02:13 PM
thanks alot! im looking forward to catching my first fish from the surf went out and grabbed some of thoose worms as well as some of the grubs

Which Way Out
04-19-2012, 10:01 PM
Like Bones suggested.
Also I will add to be careful of the surf zone. The waves can get you when you least expect it. Sometimes the sand will have a trench that will drop off real quick. Step into without knowing its there will get you in over your head real quick. But its the place to fish most every time.

Good luck
WWO

Got_fish?
04-20-2012, 07:52 AM
do i have to get deep into the water to cast my line far enouph for the fish to be biting? im thinking of using a carolina rig with some worms i bought from gulp with maybe 1/2 or 1 oz weight

manuel149
04-20-2012, 08:07 AM
Bsp are very close so no need to cast to far. LIke WWO said be carefull
Every step you take you can fall in a trench. Lastly keep your reel out of the sand

Which Way Out
04-20-2012, 09:21 AM
Bsp are very close so no need to cast to far. LIke WWO said be carefull
Every step you take you can fall in a trench. Lastly keep your reel out of the sand

Thanks Manuel.