PDA

View Full Version : Just getting into Fly Fishing

zenmic
03-26-2012, 12:48 AM
Hello all,

I registered back in late Febuary, early March, so I got caught in the crash and had to re-create my ID,eh no biggie. Like the title said, I am just getting into fly fishing. I just got done last Saturday with the 3-day beginner classes at Pasadena Casting Club. Now that I can throw line out without looking like a complete idiot, I guess it is time to learn how to use the fly once it is in the water. I am thinking of learning out at Balboa lake. As I understand it this is a lake with lots of talipia that bite most anything. I figure that would be a good place to start practicing my skills and seeing if I can bloody well catch fish with a fly rod. From reading a number of threads I understand that the water there is toxic, so I have NO intentions of keeping anything I land from that lake. The other reason I am thinking about that lake is because it is VERY close to work for me.

Any suggestions or comments?

Thanks in Advance,
Mic

sandtrout
03-26-2012, 05:06 PM
I know that the long beach casting club is also offering free casting classes in April.

http://www.longbeachcastingclub.org/

They have outings that are also free and educational.

The Fishing Queen
03-26-2012, 05:36 PM
Well, you are not the only idiot out there, join the club. I think I look sillier with my PINK fly rod out in lake trying to catch fish. I had nerve to practice all by myself for a few days ( after my teachers - 'Pudd MASTER BAITER' and 'VIVID_FLY' left the lake). I know I was clumsy out there and tended to get my line tangled a lot, but hey, we are learning right? I really enjoy it and it is fun! We will get it right someday.:Cool:

zenmic
03-26-2012, 11:26 PM