PDA

View Full Version : Help a Noobie: LNL fishing?

flyhigh123
03-22-2012, 12:21 AM
I'm new to fishing, well , i mean i haven't fished in ages, and just recently got the bug and loving it ( even though I haven't caught anything).

I've rounded a few buddies to go to LNL this weekend, since they stock and hoping we can catch a few fish ( trying to get them hooked, my friends). It'll be my first time out there. Plan on fishing trout, but am open to any other fish as well.

can you guys who have fished LNL, give me a few tips and tricks? What size hook should I use? How should I tie it? I'm probably shore fishing for a bit, and maybe renting a boat. I have powerbait, and berkely trout worm. I also bought a few flies.

I have a few nightcrawlers as well.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

BigSerb
03-22-2012, 07:31 AM
From shore hit up zone 2 ( bench next to tree), I was there three months ago caught 4 trout and friendo got 4. Used I think it was pink or orange powerbait (no other color seemed to work) and 12-18 inch leader with sliding sinker or snap sinkers. Best advice is to talk to the guys that work there. They are more than happy to help with any questions you have. Seen them setup and bait and throw for little kids there. Finally get there early.

allanon
03-22-2012, 08:17 AM
I would recommend zone 2 as well. Its been the best area from shore lately.

Toughest thing to figure out with LNL is whether the fish have gone shallow or are swimming in deeper water.
Recently they have been going very shallow, like 10-15 feet out from shore shallow. But i have been there when they were deep too, so I usually cast 1 rod deep and 1 shallow and see what happens.

usual stuff works there - powerbait, nightcrawlers, micetails, powermouse....
if on a boat - go to the "flats" - i have done very well just off the buoy located there...

I'll be out there with my Dad and a friend on Sat. Hope to see you there.

Tight lines everyone!

flyhigh123
03-22-2012, 10:18 AM