PDA

View Full Version : Irvine Lake Friday 3/23

Sandman_Tracker
03-19-2012, 06:30 PM
I'll be going to Irvine Lake on Friday. A few of my buddies can't make it, so I'll be going solo. If anyone wants to go, you're more then welcome to join me. I live in Riverside County (next to LP), so we can either carpool or meet over there. It's my first time at the lake so I'm hoping to get someone who wants to go that is knowledgeable of the lake. If you're a first timer at the Vine like me, that's good too, always better to fish with company.

So, if anyone has any tips on techniques, fishing spots, bait, depth to troll, etc..any info or advice would be greatly appreciated. I'll be doing some trolling for trout and some bass fishing as well.

Thanks,

Paul

Matt44
03-19-2012, 07:03 PM
Dang paul id be down to join you if I didn't have to work fridays. Shad, pink, and firetiger work pretty well with the cranks, rapalas flicker shads and mira shads are good bets also the sc shiners!

Sandman_Tracker
03-19-2012, 09:41 PM
THx Matt....What about flashers, are they used with the lures there? I know I used those a lot up North when trolling. Also, what about the Kiwkfish lures, how do those do there?

5150fishn
03-20-2012, 09:20 AM
Paul, never used flashers at the Vine only in the Sierras but it couldn't hurt to try. I have used the Kwikfish lures with some luck but not recently. Matt pretty much summed up what has been working for me lately but Needlefish and Castmasters should also be in your arsenal for trolling the Vine. Hot spots have been changing lately but try right down the middle of the lake. Most of my fish have been flat lined but it wouldn't hurt to have one trolling with leadcore to cover the spectrum of the water column. Good luck and report back!

Sandman_Tracker
03-20-2012, 08:13 PM