PDA

View Full Version : On target , but..

efishent
10-18-2011, 02:18 PM
There were no more excuses for not going: 1-2 ft surf, clear warm water, moderate to no salad (evaluated during surf session yesterday), and I had free morning that was nothing but overcast with glassy conditions. Had all my stuff in, stopped by work and in the surf by 8 30 with only flaw – lack of camera (my water resistant camera quit working). NO problem: the ambitious plan was to get a legal Hali, take it home, picture and eat it.

I’ve been surf-fishing around here for about 3 years and have always released all the halibut caught even without measuring. After measuring the last one at 23” I thought it was just not a dinner material, even though my wife and I and friends enjoy the meat (eating Alaska –caught fillets). So I was ready to keep my next legal from SoCal.

Spot 1. Least salad I’ve seen here but a bit turbid. Tossed LC for about an hour covering ½ mile of beach with no results

Spot 2 . Water was very clear and I just enjoyed watching the corbina swim all around me and accidentally snagged a couple but both came off, no butts though.