PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best bet for 10/1?

Hole Pounder
09-30-2011, 11:36 AM
So I am brand new to the FNN forum, a non boater for now, with decent fishing skills. Was hoping some of you out there with a better pulse on the bite could direct me to a decent spot. I usually fish DVL with a rental boat, but as often as i go its putting a ding on the finances. so here are the options im thinking of:

1. Float tube at Perris, havent had much luck there but i hear the bite is turning on there
2. Float tube up at Castaic Lagoon, only been there once, marginal luck during the post spawn.
3. head down to Dixon Lake for a $25 rental, i know they have some good bass there, but havent seen a report in ages
4. shore fish DVL
5. Bite the bullet and rent again at DVL.

Im decently dialed in at DVL, know i can catch fish there. i would like to try something new, just concerned i wont do well and will just get frustrated.

What would you guys suggest? Again this is my 1st post, so be gentle

TopwaterTony
09-30-2011, 11:48 AM
Im decently dialed in at DVL, know i can catch fish there. i would like to try something new, just concerned i wont do well and will just get frustrated.

Like they say it's fishing NOT catching. You have to pay the dues (time on water), to reap the rewards, or be really lucky. Ok so on to being gentle. ;-)

- Castaic has an event at the lagoon tomorrow. Probably not your best bet.
- Perris is good for tubes, I have done decent there. My friend has done even better. There are some pigs in that lake.
- DVL has at least 1 tournament that I have confirmed. Might not affect you if you are fishing from shore.
- I have never fished Dixon, so I can't help you there.

It's a toss up in my opinion with those options between DVL from shore or Perris tube.

ordane
09-30-2011, 12:28 PM
Dixon!! I think you can rent the boat with a motor for $50.

...There is also Hodges down that way, pretty decent bass lake with inexpensive Boat Rentals.

WOODWARD7