PDA

View Full Version : fly rod with spinning?

cheeersM8
09-04-2011, 12:46 AM
Hello all,

I am fairly new to the fishing world however have been bit by the bug pretty hard. I must have started 3 months ago and had over 10 fishing trips and 1 week long mammoth trip that i wished could be longer. Anyhow I have been using a cheapo 35 dollar combo rod and reel from Turners (6feet long ML 3 ball bearing daiwa setup). So my question is this, I really want to step it up and spend a little more for the upcoming trout season in irvine lake but is unsure what to get.

I have read many suggestions regarding fly rods with spinning reels, but don't know how to convert fly rod line weight to spinning reel test lb weight? And is this a good idea? pros, cons? I'm actually really interested in this idea. Love unorthodox ideas. :EyePop:

If i do go with a traditional setup of spinning rod and reel should i just get something good ($200) and stick with it for a very long time or just get something i can use for now ($80) and upgrade maybe 2 years later? or just stick with what i have?

Many fishermen have told me to wait a year and a half before purchasing...thoughts?

I have mainly been learning on catfish and only in mammoth have I done trout. I am really yearning for a fight on either fish. Each time i reel a catch in i feel like i am muscling it in and not truly playing the fish with the proper drag etc. Ideally i would like a rod that I can use for both trout and cat but am afraid of losing "fight" "sensitivity" for the trout fishing times.

As always much appreciated:Big Grin:

P.S. my biggest catch was a 5 pounder catfish. biggest trout was probably 1.5 and by far i think trout fights harder. Oh and i only do shore/bank fishing, never on a boat

P.A.W.
09-04-2011, 06:37 AM