PDA

View Full Version : The hunt for tuna!

E.A.R.G.
09-03-2011, 01:47 AM
We met up around 7pm at La Mirada and made the two hour drive down to shelter island. Jeff and I were joined this time by my friend from San Fransisco…. An utter and complete noobie.The game plan was to buy fin bait at EB and make squid at the nados and proceed down to lower hidden where we had some info of tuna being caught. Well the launch was good, and we got to the nados just fine, but the squid did not want to cooperate for us tonight. We tried for a few hoursna being caught. Well the launch was good, and we got to the nados just fine, but the squid did not want to cooperate for us tonight. We tried for a few hours and only managed about thirty or so pieces. On the bright side, the conditions at the nados were definitely looking better! 69 degrees and clean water! Last week the water temps were floating around 61 and the water was dirty green.
At around 2 AM we decided to make the move over to the tuna grounds. We went around 8 knots to conserve gas. Talk about a brutal drive! Good thing the porpoises joined me and kept me company.
We arrived on the grounds right around daybreak. Nice water conditions. Pushing 68 degrees. Clean blue water. No winds. 1-2 foot swells. Gorgeous day. We started the troll and went south making sure to look out for paddys on the way.
We stopped at a couple paddies that looked promising but nobody was home. We then hightailed it to a spot that we had suspicions of holding fish, about 6 miles down south. We arrived to see about 6 tuna pens and the Eclipse already on a good bite.
We trolled around that area for a while, both lures and fin bait, but when we saw the mass of cattle boats approaching from every direction, we thought it’d be a good idea to settle in on a spot and start plunking.